RSS

Speakeasy #157 – After The Storm

15 Apr

Winter seemed reluctant to release it’s hold in Anna’s heart, the healers tried everything they could yet she showed no sign of life.

“Maybe it will get better when spring comes around” says one of them, encouragingly.

I look outside at the snow storm and despair, “it looks as if spring has given up on us” I answer.

“Well, there is no more we can do for today. We will come back tomorrow”.

I cannot show them how desperate I am, I can’t let them know how much I fear that she will not live that long, so instead I say the only thing I can:

“thank you”.

Anna I fear that the child inside you is causing all of this, I fear that the source of our joy this winter is taking all your heat and energy in the comfort of your womb and not leaving enough for you. The spells of the healers are all around you yet I fear it will not be enough. Nothing can protect from yourself, or from what is, at the moment, a part of you, deep inside. In that fortress it keeps safe but I can’t keep YOU safe. I will stay by your side all night…

…. I wake up with a jolt, when did I fall asleep? Everything seems so calm, the storm has passed and the sun is shining. I look at you pale as moonlight and cold as the stars, you are not waking up. I see that you will never wake up now. My body becomes ice and I can’t move. I cannot even cry. What monster am I that I can’t even cry in front of the statue you have become? Why can I not cry for you?

And then I hear a small sound, which then becomes a wail and I realise that something magical had happened this night. Anna did you give your life for your child knowingly? Or could nature not bear to see the both of you die?

Tears roll down my cheeks but still I cannot move. A small knock echoes for a long time around my head before the door carefully opens and the early healer tiptoes in. What a sorry sight it must have been for her and yet she quietly came in, sat me down and put my child in my arms before disappearing out again.

A lifetime later, though from the look of the sun it must have been less than an hour, she came back with an older woman who fed the hungry little thing that had been in my arms and I couldn’t help but wonder at the beauty of life. I have witnessed a heart wrenching end, but with it came a new beginning. It was like a Phoenix, I thought, new life born from ashes. I named my daughter Anna, like you, because in a way, you were reborn in her, and I know she is not you and I will never expect her to be you but there is a part of you in her. I will cherish my child because you gave her your life, and I will gladly give her mine.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Image
This is my first post for the speakeasy challenge at yeahwrite, I hope I didn’t miss anything ^^’
Some of you may know me from trifecta and for those of you who don’t, hi! I’m a bookworm, as you can see :p . Feel free to look around 🙂
 
27 Comments

Posted by on 15 April 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: , , ,

27 responses to “Speakeasy #157 – After The Storm

  1. paulmclem

    15 April 2014 at 17:24

    First and foremost I like the ambition behind this piece. Think the first paragraph needs to be split to break up the speech segments – can easily lose track of who is talking. Interesting mix of POV i.e. a bit of 3rd, 2nd and 1st. If this was intentional it was a brave choice. Think there is a good story in here which is maybe slightly lost in the POV changes. Fascinating effort though. Look forward to reading more of your work.

    PaulC.

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:15

      Thank you, both for the encouragement and the advice 🙂
      I will change the first paragraph

       
  2. jannatwrites

    15 April 2014 at 19:43

    What a heartbreaking scene. I don’t know what time period this is set in, but it has a “long ago” feel to it.

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:23

      I’m glad you felt it, I don’t think there was a specific time period just as put it “long ago”… I hope you liked it 🙂

       
  3. peggyshope

    15 April 2014 at 21:25

    I love the heroism you portray in the face of incredible sadness. Nice use of the prompts. Well done

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:26

      Thank you, I don’t like sad endings (though I’m not sure that shows with this post) so I wanted to add some hope, in the end…

       
  4. zeudytigre

    16 April 2014 at 09:14

    I felt that this could be another time (past or future), possibly another place to that we know now. Sad yet gently told. I liked the hint of magic and the uplifting end.

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:27

      Thank you that’s exactly what I was aiming for! I’m glad you understood 🙂

       
  5. tinkerbelle96

    16 April 2014 at 17:26

    This is so sad….yet there is a glimmer of sunshine in the end, showing that all is not lost.. The line about the phoenix is beautiful 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:31

      Thanks! That’s also part of the reason I chose the title, it’s a saying: “after the storm comes a calm” which pretty much sums it all up

       
  6. Suzanne

    17 April 2014 at 01:01

    Lovely and tragic all at once. Love the mood in this. Welcome to the speakeasy! 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:32

      Thank you. Heh, now I’m here I’ll have to earn my place 🙂

       
  7. M. L. Sexton

    17 April 2014 at 01:37

    This was a sweet story.

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:33

      Thanks! I couldn’t bear to leave it sad.

       
  8. jstansfeld

    17 April 2014 at 03:59

    Sad scene bathed in love, Cheerio, Jane

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 11:35

      Aye, love can work miracles… or so I’ve heard it told (not that I’d know)

       
  9. fatgirlinboxinggloves

    17 April 2014 at 05:23

    I agree with Janna, this piece does have an old timey feel to it. Maybe it’s the healers. The story is sad, but I like that there is still hope there.

     
  10. tinsenpup

    17 April 2014 at 14:23

    This is such a timeless, tragic tale. I’m glad that you chose to end it with hope.

     
  11. atrm61

    17 April 2014 at 16:44

    A bitter sweet tale,told so well-loved that last para:-)

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 April 2014 at 16:52

      Thank you, I appreciate the fact that you stopped by to comment 🙂

       
      • atrm61

        17 April 2014 at 16:58

        :-)I am a bit late as I was held up in real life-doing the rounds now-9-10 more then I vote 🙂

         
      • imab00kworm

        17 April 2014 at 21:39

        better late than never 🙂

         
  12. Natalie D

    18 April 2014 at 00:38

    Oh, how sad. The ending is redeeming though, with twinkling hope.

     
    • imab00kworm

      18 April 2014 at 09:56

      Thank you. Having seen the others I see I’m not the only one that went down that path 🙂

       

Any thoughts?...

 
