RSS

Speakeasy #159 – Rise and Fall

29 Apr

There was a time when the human race Became. There was a time when it was young and stupid and harmlessly barbaric and as the years passed it grew wiser. Or at the very least, some of them grew wiser. Then there came the pinnacle of its time, the golden age when bright young inspired minds preached philosophy about the world and it started to change. And the humans seemed invincible. There was hope of a better world. There was Hope. It fluttered for a moment, magnificent in its struggle, then wilted and lay still as War happened. Now it is dead.

We are the dead of the human race.

We cling to life unconsciously, not knowing we’ve already lost it but we know. My generation knows.

We escape in our dreams: I know some who look out of the window and see dragons, I know those who live in their past and future imagining all the possibilities of what did happen, what didn’t happen and what could happen, I know ones who make their mind an impenetrable fortress where they can be safe from the outside and there are people who see great plains where they can escape the monotonous life we lead that is not living anymore and I know people who have a different life in their dreams and live it at night and sometimes during the day too and I know, that the people who write stories sometimes write things so amazing that will touch you to the deepest of your heart and they can make those stories so true because they believe in them and some people live in their stories and the world fades away until everyone else realises…

We are the dead.

Some say the world was created by a silver fox, old and wise; he remembered to give us old but he did not remember the wise…

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

The prompts were the phrase: “It fluttered for a moment, magnificent in its struggle, then wilted and lay still” and this magnificent silver fox (which I looked up to see if I could find anything interesting about it):

silver-fox

As always this didn’t go where I initially thought it would and the fox was kind of forgotten until the end but I hope you like it nonetheless 🙂

 
26 Comments

Posted by on 29 April 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: , ,

26 responses to “Speakeasy #159 – Rise and Fall

  1. Renada Styles

    30 April 2014 at 06:23

    Ah! Indeed! No truer words have been written. The young and dumb have turned to complacent and dead. The stories and daydreams can be more fantastical than this scarred reality humanity has forged.

     
    • imab00kworm

      30 April 2014 at 16:44

      I only repeat the voices in my head… 😉
      Thank you. I too thought this was very real, it’s not just a random piece of fiction (which sometimes happens) but I really feel this way about our society today… Of course I magnified it as I do pretty much everything but most of it was true

       
  2. alienorajt

    30 April 2014 at 12:49

    fabulous, elegant and wise; I love it!

     
    • imab00kworm

      30 April 2014 at 16:57

      Thank you!
      I can already imagine myself a wise (though crazy) old lady in a house full of books and cats 😉
      I don’t about about fabulous or elegant though but thanks 🙂

       
  3. M. L. Sexton

    30 April 2014 at 15:49

    This was brilliant and true

     
    • imab00kworm

      30 April 2014 at 16:59

      Thank you! It’s up to us and our stories to change the world now… or at least entertain it intelligently (yes apparently that is a word)

       
  4. Christina

    30 April 2014 at 19:49

    i felt like i was sitting across the table from my grandfather… great voice!

     
    • imab00kworm

      30 April 2014 at 20:20

      Thank you! It’s the voice inside our heads that change to the way it thinks it should be heard. I’ve always (or usually?) read what I write in my own voice so it’s nice to know what it’s like when others read it 🙂

       
  5. stankmeaner

    1 May 2014 at 01:21

    Fantastic. I’ve read some great submissions tonight, I think this one is my favorite.

     
  6. AZ Gringa

    1 May 2014 at 02:08

    Let’s all get together and change the world with our whimsy. Then, as our lights begin to dim, one by one, we’ll wander around in our bathrobes and flick people’s ears and pull their legs and maybe they’ll learn to smile again. Then wise may be possible and happiness not so far away. Fox would be proud. 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      1 May 2014 at 09:53

      I agree with you completely thank you! Your reply was possibly better than what I wrote :p

       
      • AZ Gringa

        1 May 2014 at 10:29

        No, but you inspired me. 🙂

         
      • imab00kworm

        1 May 2014 at 10:29

        Heh thank you 🙂

         
  7. Suzanne

    1 May 2014 at 02:18

    So much truth in this, I’m afraid. Wonderful voice! 🙂

     
  8. jannatwrites

    1 May 2014 at 04:14

    As others have commented, I was drawn to the truth that was woven through this. That last line was terrific – I like how you phrased it.

     
    • imab00kworm

      1 May 2014 at 10:00

      Things sound deeper when they’re true… or something along the lines…
      Thank you 🙂

       
  9. peggyshope

    1 May 2014 at 05:57

    I have been one of those people who get lost in their dreams, allowing the dreams and the stories to become more real than real. This was great: Great voice, great concepts, great truths. Great, all the way around!

     
    • imab00kworm

      1 May 2014 at 10:02

      I am also one of these people, as long as you remember reality now and then I don’t think there’s much harm done.
      Thanks so much for your great comment 🙂

       
  10. zeudytigre

    1 May 2014 at 12:28

    Eloquent and depressingly true, but only if we accept it as inevitable 😉 Love the way you have written this. A snapshot and a warning to change.

     
  11. Christine

    1 May 2014 at 18:01

    Very cool social commentary. I like the otherworldly tone, and thought the way you brought in the fox at the end was great.

     
  12. tedstrutz

    4 May 2014 at 20:11

    Wow… that was good. Did not remember the wise… nice.

     

Any thoughts?...

 
