RSS

Speakeasy #161 – Of Monsters And Men

11 May

We could have achieved so much, you and I, but you locked me in a cage, said I gave a bad image and then you did things to me, to try and make more people like me because you wanted an army. But you didn’t want me. All you ever did was deceive me. All you did was lie and I now I can’t sit still. You said you wanted to help me, I wanted us to rule the world and I trusted you as you stabbed me in the back. You’re the bad guy, you locked me up. So I have to be the good guy and defeat you. This is why I can’t sit still you see, justice is calling and I have to do what’s right. I can hear it now, the quiet thudding, I stand up and smash the lock and open the door. Now it’s getting louder as I suddenly know which way to go to get out and I storm out. Along with the thudding in my heart is now a deafening rhythmic booming thump waiting for the action to go with the music but I know where to go. Today is the day you could’ve started your rule. As I got closer the music got louder and the rage spilled out of me like a fire consuming everything in its wake, the clouds shifted, casting an ominous shadow on the ground.
I will end your rule before it even starts. When I see you all I see is you, all I hear this music inside my head and I feel the poking of more and more bullets bouncing of my body, I am unstoppable, I am god.
We could’ve had it all, but you played by the rules and ended up with nothing. With your bleeding entrails in my huge hands and bits of your brain scattered on the floor.
We could’ve had it all…

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I really hope you can believe me when I say I don’t like to write gory stuff (like what happened at the end) but I do like to write about different things each time and the inspiration comes from what’s around me and I was watching “agents of shield” and well, monsters, right and wrong, locked up then not, dead people… there is more to it (or I wouldn’t watch it) but there is still that. (And I’ve kind of been watching the entire 21 episodes so far all this week.)
Anyway I hope you like this 🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on 11 May 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Speakeasy #161 – Of Monsters And Men

  1. Suzanne

    13 May 2014 at 20:15

    It’s always good to try different things with your writing. I love the perspective in this and the gory ending fits with the lead up. Nicely done! 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      13 May 2014 at 21:08

      Thank you! Sometimes I write about things I don’t necessarily believe (or however you would say that •~• ) to make people think.
      Writing (fiction) is all about “What if?”

       
  2. saroful

    14 May 2014 at 22:53

    I really like the rhythm you’ve got, starting slow and building building building to that explosive hanging climax. The sentence structure locks us into that beat in the head. I really want to read this as a spoken word piece, in the dark starting ever so softly, over a taiko drumming cover of the Adele song…

     
    • imab00kworm

      15 May 2014 at 07:46

      Thank you 🙂 I could’ve done that but my voice sounds horrible to me so I won’t 😉

       
  3. jannatwrites

    15 May 2014 at 07:37

    As I read this, it’s like I could feel the rage building as the narration went on. Yes, the ending was gory, but it didn’t come off as gratuitous to me 🙂

     
  4. Kathy Combs

    15 May 2014 at 14:17

    Great buildup and although the end was gory it fit the buildup. Really well written. You built up the suspense to quite a magnificent climax. Anyways, I generally don’t get into the guts and gore but this worked, added to it, and I liked it. Well done!

     
  5. atrm61

    15 May 2014 at 19:35

    Sometimes gory is needed to make the story authentic and here it does!I liked how you expressed the monster’s rage :-)Different is good.

     
  6. Spider42

    16 May 2014 at 12:47

    Pretty nicely done for someone who doesn’t write darker/gory stuff preferentially! 🙂
    I can totally relate to writing something new, keeps it interesting – also nice to find a fellow Agents of SHIELD fan, I’m planning on binge-watching the last 3 episodes tonight, loved the show from the start but around the mid-season point they just took it to a whole other level.
    Cheers!

     
    • imab00kworm

      16 May 2014 at 16:19

      Thank you!
      Nice to know I’m not the only one that watches it (apart from my little brother who is also a huge marvel fan). I won’t spoil it for you though 😉

       
      • Spider42

        17 May 2014 at 07:22

        Saw it. Loved it.
        I love this show and not just because of my pre-existing love for Whedon-shows or Marvel.
        This second season to come is going to be mind-blowing! 🙂

         
      • imab00kworm

        17 May 2014 at 07:58

        Damn the first season is over? What am I going to watch now? Oh yeah… I have work to do and exams coming up….
        I wonder what’s going to happen in avengers 2, will people just be like what Coulson is director and he gone mad?! He’ll be the bad guy and it’ll take all the avengers to realise that and to defeat his team :p still it might get confusing for those who don’t watch, whatever happens

         
      • Spider42

        19 May 2014 at 13:35

        No, I think they’ll bring Fury back somehow for Avengers 2 or at least use him as a cameo to explain the change to Coulson in charge – plus the villain in the sequel is Ultron (voiced in an awesome choice by James frikkin Spader!) so no worries there.

         
      • imab00kworm

        19 May 2014 at 20:15

        Well it’ll be interesting to see how they handle it 🙂 and good I’d hate to see Fitz-Siemens as bad guys they’re so sweet. Poor Fitz, hope he’s ok.

         

Any thoughts?...

 
