RSS

Green Soldiers with Guns

22 May

Down from the abyss came-
A deep rumbling song
A sound to wake the dead,
Come let the mourners come,
Rise them from their beds.

Tell them that their flesh and blood
Are soldiers gone to war,
And tell them that they died in vain
Strewn upon the floor.

Tell them how their kinsmen cried
And watched their brothers die.
Tell them how they took a gun
And never wondered why,

And tell them that when all was gone
They sat there looking back,
And wept their hearts out and their souls
For those they killed and did not know
And those that they saw die.

Tell them how in fields of green
They still see pools of blood,
Now tell me if it’s war you seek
I’ll tell you that it’s wrong.

………………………………………………………………………………………….?………………………………….
New prompt different friend: soldier green gun
This was prompted by Kai
At first I was annoyed because I didn’t want to write about war and it’s very hard not to with such words. So I channelled that emotion and inspiration did the rest.
Feel free to try or to give me a prompt on your own, so far it’s been three words but it could also be a phrase, anything else steps it up a bit but if you want to see, for example, what I’d do with some music feel free to put it in the comments.
Just don’t ask me to write an essay.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 22 May 2014 in Banzaï, Friendly Prompts

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Green Soldiers with Guns

  1. DragonSpark

    22 May 2014 at 18:41

    We need to make a song out of this :0

     
    • imab00kworm

      22 May 2014 at 19:23

      It’s already sad enough 😦 but… I can talk to *codenamedrummer* who asked for it I’m sure she’d be interested. Oh and we decided to get guitars instead of a drum kit so drums will be like pots and pans and whatever we can find. That will be very interesting I’m sure (not to mention the sound)

       
  2. zampano

    22 May 2014 at 20:05

    I like your angle for this one. When I saw the title the first thing I thought of was the green plastic army men toys.

     
    • imab00kworm

      22 May 2014 at 21:18

      Actually that’s only the second thing I thought of, first I thought of green uniforms but it was soldier green gun not green soldier… Not that it changes much.
      Thank you

       

Any thoughts?...

 
