RSS

Shadorma – Fossils

01 Jun

20140601-104343.jpg

In the Alps
The world is still wild,
Rocks jutting
Out like teeth
From a giant, ancient shark
Many rows of spikes.

Rainbows fade,
In the mist, rolling
Down in wisps
From the heights.
The ominous jagged cliffs,
Black, of Mordor loom.

You could still
Imagine beacons
Lighting up
The mountains
Calling for help that won’t come
For none’s at the end.

Surviving
Gnarled and twisted trees,
Parts of snow,
Mist, rain, fog,
“Trespassers, you shall not pass!”
Say they, staring still.

Lost pillars
Still standing, not knowing,
What they’re for
Anymore
So small in the mountains tall
Insignificant.

Glaciers
Imperceptibly
Rolling down,
The human
Is a spark
In the lifetime of this proud,
Giant wilderness.

Awed still now
Of these rocks far gone
I sit here
In wonder
Counting my fingers
For every
Syllable
Until every line is right
And ’till all is said.

…….772929473901@2€:?:??&………………

A shadorma is composed of six non-rhyming lines (sestina or sextet) and the syllable pattern is 3-5-3-3-7-5. It can have as many stanzas as you like, just as long as each stanza follows the syllable pattern mentioned above.

I went on a geology trip to the Alpes this week and writing this reminds me of the haikus we had to write and everyone was counting their syllables in the coach and if you listened to what the boys were saying you kind of hoped they weren’t really going to write that…

This was a prompt from Bastet. It’s probably the first and last time I do it but it was fun thanks 🙂

Shadorma Photo Prompt #10 – June 1,2014 | Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie

 
15 Comments

Posted by on 1 June 2014 in Banzaï, Shadorma

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Shadorma – Fossils

  1. Bastet

    1 June 2014 at 10:05

    Magnificent! Love the story, it came out beautifully…don’t forget to add your name to Mr. Linky so others can easily find it, and thanks so much for participating!

     
    • imab00kworm

      1 June 2014 at 10:11

      Ah yes, no problem it was fun, thank you 🙂

       
      • Bastet

        1 June 2014 at 10:37

        Very welcome…and loved reading it … you did a magnificent job! 😀

         
      • imab00kworm

        1 June 2014 at 10:39

        Thank you so much!

         
    • imab00kworm

      1 June 2014 at 10:23

      I think it worked but my wifi doesn’t like me much so if you notice that it didn’t please tell me.

       
      • Bastet

        1 June 2014 at 10:38

        ok…I just thought I’d mention it as many people forget to do so! Hopefully you’ll soon have a better rapport with your wifi!

         
      • imab00kworm

        1 June 2014 at 10:42

        Hehe yeah it’s just that my room is a bit far from the signal (not that we have a big house, wifi just has a very short range)

         
      • Bastet

        1 June 2014 at 10:52

        Know the problem…we have that one in our house as well…and some of our computers just don’t pick-up well.

         
  2. beloveddreamerforever.wordpress.com

    1 June 2014 at 18:20

    You did a great job with the Shsdorma form. I can tell that you are a story writer as I feel this poem is too long. In it’s self it is wonderful. I think the shadorma is meant to be about six lines or even twelve. I short poem makes it flow better.
    I must also thank you so much for reading my poem, Little Blue House. I am happy that you liked it. Keep writing poetry!

    Melanie
    bd

     
    • imab00kworm

      1 June 2014 at 18:32

      Thanks for the advice and yes I prefer to write longer stories. I’ve been meaning to write something about this so I already had some of the words.
      Your poem was beautiful, I’m glad I stumbled upon this challenge to read it 🙂

       
  3. readinpleasure

    2 June 2014 at 16:56

    Stunning work 🙂

     

Any thoughts?...

 
