RSS

Speakeasy 164 – Ghost Stories

03 Jun

There is no warning rattle at the door. There is no howling of the wind. There are no white sheets when they come. Ghosts. They just appear. Some take the form they had before they died, some alter it but it’s easier for them to take over animals, especially small ones, especially birds. Small birds. People don’t notice them, I think I’m the only one to see dead people. Of course at first I didn’t know, it was mainly kind people, worried about me but then I met a guy who hated to lie. So he told me the truth. And he told me how he died. Dead people are usually harmless but when they are angry they can appear near your bed and kill you. Of course that’s very hard for them to do.
My best friend is dead, I’m pretty sure she’s the first dead person I’ve known though I can’t be sure. She’s often near me and we talk a lot. At night she always makes sure someone’s beside me if she can’t be there. If she weren’t dead I would have married her later. She knows everything. She’s the only girl worth existing and sometimes I wonder why she sticks around a “little boy” like me. Of course I’m a big boy now but people often get it wrong.
People, living people I mean, say I’m weird. They think I talk to myself. They’re weird, why can’t they see ghosts? I don’t like boys my age. I don’t like girls. I don’t like grown-ups, I don’t like babies, I don’t like puzzles, books are boring, drawing is too long and I don’t like games that involve other people. I like talking to dead people. They know things. They tell me stories about everything. I want to be a pirate when I grow up. They tell me pirate stories and all sorts of other ones too. When I grow up, I want to be a dead pirate and my best friend can be my parrot.

………………………………………………………………………………………..

…I may have gotten a little carried away with this one…

 
24 Comments

Posted by on 3 June 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: , ,

24 responses to “Speakeasy 164 – Ghost Stories

  1. thewizardsword

    3 June 2014 at 18:46

    Wow. So imaginative! I like the way it flows and character’s voice. Good stuff!

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 June 2014 at 18:54

      Thanks 🙂
      It was a bit awkward at the beginning but I think it came together nicely. If a little creepily…

       
  2. tnkerr

    4 June 2014 at 03:44

    Well, I’ve read this a few times now. I’m ready for the movie. When is that being released again?

     
    • imab00kworm

      4 June 2014 at 16:33

      Ah unfortunately I think it’s already been done :p
      A creepy kid saying “I see dead people”? I haven’t seen it myself though.

       
  3. Bastet

    5 June 2014 at 05:43

    Love your ending…well liked all the story actually, but loved your ending 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 June 2014 at 16:59

      Thank you
      I was aiming for shock or horror… but I suppose a happy smiley is nice too 😉

       
      • Bastet

        6 June 2014 at 05:13

        Lol…shocking! >:-/

         
      • imab00kworm

        6 June 2014 at 13:47

        Oh no! 😉

         
      • Bastet

        6 June 2014 at 13:51

        Lol! 😀

         
      • imab00kworm

        6 June 2014 at 15:42

        :p

         
  4. zeudytigre

    5 June 2014 at 10:40

    Love the idea in this, so creepy.

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 June 2014 at 17:01

      Why thank you :p
      I was going to do something including the heart too but I thought it would be too obvious ^^

       
  5. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156)

    5 June 2014 at 14:51

    This was so creepy. I loved the idea, the ending…really just the whole thing. Bravo!

     
  6. Renada Styles

    5 June 2014 at 17:28

    Honestly, I thought this was pretty nifty. Talking to ghosts sounds like it would be fun! It seems like he had a guardian ghost-angel.

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 June 2014 at 17:38

      Aye I suppose it all comes down to what ghosts are around you but yeah it sounds fun doesn’t it? As long as they can’t do anything to you although here unfortunately they can.

       
  7. 40 Stories for 40

    5 June 2014 at 19:06

    great ideas here! Such an interesting voice to your character!

     
    • imab00kworm

      6 June 2014 at 11:20

      Thanks! I suppose I started too complicated for a little boy which could add to that “interesting voice” I suppose 😉

       
  8. Suzanne

    5 June 2014 at 19:10

    Delightfully creepy! Love the narrator’s voice. 🙂

     
  9. vishalbheeroo

    5 June 2014 at 21:13

    Sppoky, creepy and a voice that seems so real, feeling chill down the spine. Love it:)

     
  10. Meg

    6 June 2014 at 01:21

    I love this — you nailed the child’s voice. “Getting carried away” is good.– wish I could do it more often!

     
    • imab00kworm

      6 June 2014 at 11:22

      Thanks, yeah in the end it’s like the story kind of writes itself 🙂

       

Any thoughts?...

 
