RSS

Speakeasy 168 – Complications

02 Jul

“When did you know you were lost?” he asked, concerned.
“When no-one came back for me.”

“I was ten, I didn’t know any better, I ran away and tried to live how I could, I didn’t know there were people who could help me.”
The boy was panicking he had just been caught stealing, he was thirteen years old and had been living on the streets for three years. As his lawyer the man had to understand why he did everything that he did, to make sure there were no lies and to inform the boy of the other possibilities so that he would know that people could help him.
Steveson now knew everything he need to know, Josh was a victim of his own ignorance, he did what he thought he needed to do to survive, he had no idea that what he had stolen contained state and even country secrets heavily guarded by the CIA. So well hidden that the boy had no idea what he was doing, he thought he just taking something he could exchange for food. The guarding must’ve had a flaw for such a child to get ahold o something so precious but luckily he didn’t get far.
Of course he didn’t know that Josh was actually called Andreï and that he was an elite agent of a very special division of the Russian special forces, or that the boy had been sent to infiltrate North Korea as Jihye Kim, or that he had been caught there and had then been sent along with supervision to America (Pueblo, Colorado to be more exact) to get this information. Steveson didn’t know that Andreï/Jihye/Josh got caught on purpose to make sure North Korea did not get what they wanted. The man had no idea that the boy in front of him was in grave danger. He didn’t know that this boy was planning on leaving a message to someone to get help but didn’t know if it would work. When Josh was put in an orphanage he stole some paper and an envelope and he found a pen lying carelessly around. He also had to find stamps. Enough to get his letter to France. And he started writing in a careful hand (he was still a little unused to writing in this alphabet but it was one people would more easily recognise and be less wary of so it was better than Russian. People would more likely post it if they found it and his shadows didn’t know that he spoke and wrote French. He hoped it would work):

Cher Martin
Ça fait longtemps, jai beaucoup de choses à te dire. J’aimerais d’abord savoir si tu avais bésoin….. daide…… lés… Coréns…….. Mont……..

The mistakes were the key, the message was this: “j’ai besoin d’aide les Coréens m’ont”
“I need help the Koreans have me”
He signed the letter by the name he had used when he met these contacts. He also added hints as to where he was but his superiors in Russia had put a tracker in him. All they needed was to activate it and they could find their agent. He could only hope he was worth an extraction. If the letter ever got to France in the first place.
The day after writing the letter Andreï had a trip to the beach. He had hidden the closed and stamped letter in his shirt and he managed to slip it into the sand without anyone noticing. All he had to do now was let luck an fate run their course. He planned to write letters every week but I can only see people’s past so I can only tell you what has already happened.
I hope that his plan will work and he gets an extraction. Time will tell.

……………………………………………………………………

In the nick of time! Looks like DragonSpark didn’t make it this week…

 
22 Comments

Posted by on 2 July 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: ,

22 responses to “Speakeasy 168 – Complications

  1. Meg

    3 July 2014 at 01:41

    Andreï/Jihye/Josh is one clever boy! Nice job on the prompt. I enjoyed this.

     
  2. Jennifer G. Knoblock

    3 July 2014 at 09:01

    Layers and layers of deception…I love the details of how he is unused to writing the alphabet, and the secret message in the French.

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 July 2014 at 18:39

      Everything is so international these days… Thank you I’m glad you liked it 🙂

       
  3. thewizardsword

    3 July 2014 at 10:22

    Great take on the prompt! Love all the twists & turns. Well done!

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 July 2014 at 18:40

      Thank you 🙂 and thanks for reading

       
  4. DragonSpark

    3 July 2014 at 14:35

    yea… I’m on a trip and even if the prompt looked good, I didn’t make it past 1st rough draft…
    Another good piece BW. Congrats. See all of you next week… I hope

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 July 2014 at 18:41

      Next week it might be me not there :p
      If I do write something I’ll have to ask you to link it.

       
  5. zampano

    3 July 2014 at 15:20

    Ooo! I would love to hear more of this story.

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 July 2014 at 18:43

      I’ll see if I can find more to tell…
      The Adventures of Andreï/Jihye/Josh :p

       
  6. Bastet

    3 July 2014 at 18:01

    Great go BW .. you’ve written a good piece here, loved he story! You’ll be hearing from me soon! Promesso! Bastet.

     
  7. jetgirlcos

    3 July 2014 at 19:49

    That is a fascinating piece! I love that sort of espionage story where it’s so many layers deep you can’t tell who are the “good guys!” 🙂

     
  8. Suzanne

    3 July 2014 at 21:50

    So much intrigue for someone so young. But clever too, from the looks of it. Hopefully, he’ll manage to get out safe and sound. 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 July 2014 at 22:16

      Yes, when I wrote this I was thinking (only a little) about Alex Rider. It’s a cool series of books I read about a teenage spy in MI6

       
  9. Blake

    3 July 2014 at 22:29

    I’m most intrigued by the narrator whose presence is revealed at the end: “I can only see people’s past so I can only tell you what has already happened. I hope that his plan will work and he gets an extraction. Time will tell.” Is this another spy? An “M” type head of an agency? Or some kind of psychic (since they make the cryptic statement about seeing people’s pasts)? Hmm….

     
    • imab00kworm

      4 July 2014 at 09:43

      “This” is just one more complication in the story, glad you noticed 😉
      I may write more on this and then I guess we’ll find out…

       
  10. EagleAye

    3 July 2014 at 22:43

    Love it. I love all the identities this young super-spy has amassed. That he’s so well-trained at an early age is fantastic. The perfect cover. What a great concept!

     
    • imab00kworm

      4 July 2014 at 09:46

      Thank you 🙂
      It’s kind of like Alex Rider, I read it when I was younger so it may be for a younger public and no longer appealing to you but you might want to give it a go. It’s a story about a teenage spy in MI6

       
  11. jannatwrites

    4 July 2014 at 04:45

    That was a clever idea to leave letters. I how the plan works!

     
    • imab00kworm

      4 July 2014 at 09:47

      It was also the only way I could get the prompt in nicely but thanks! 😀

       

Any thoughts?...

 
