RSS

YeahWrite Summer 2014-It’s a rough job…

14 Jul

“The shifts are demanding. Around 7pm-7am, knowing the starting hours vary depending on the day. You have to start the job at the exact assigned time, not a second earlier, not a second later. Everyone has to be in perfect harmony. We’re more synchronised than a orchestra of Swiss watchmakers.

Not only are the shifts hard, but the job itself is hard too. You are expected to be brilliant all the time. You don’t get brakes, not even to go to the bathroom. It’s a job that will anchor you in place for sure.

We’ve got nobody protecting us. We don’t have a union, politicians are always trying to cut our budget, and the media doesn’t give a crap about the real, hard working folks out there.

We’re never appreciated either. One flicker of failure, and any passer-by will be cussing at or about you. Nobody ever compliments us, even if we’re the one lighting up the city. Dogs sometime urinate on us for Christ’s sake! And don’t even get me started on the pay.

It’s a hard job being a lamppost…”

::…………:…………//HIKARI-SUPAKU::::…………………..alwaysrememberthethingsyoudon’t::..

I wasn’t planning on posting anything to the first supergrid this week, as I had already posted something for the Moonshine, and because I was traveling. The idea for the post above came to me while observing the city lights as the plane was taking off. So here is my humble homage to a piece of infrastructure we often forget.
Up next, traffic lights!! 😆

 
28 Comments

Posted by on 14 July 2014 in Dragonspark, Speakeasy

 

Tags: ,

28 responses to “YeahWrite Summer 2014-It’s a rough job…

  1. joetwo

    14 July 2014 at 10:48

    Ha! Ha! Good one! 🙂

     
    • DragonSpark

      14 July 2014 at 10:50

      O.O you sir are the most amazing, fastest commenter in the world. I’m still editing it! Anyway, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you liked it.

       
  2. Celine Jeanjean

    14 July 2014 at 14:45

    That was so much fun, I had no idea where you were going with that and what the job was going to be. Very original, that last little line is full of humour – wonderful!

     
    • DragonSpark

      15 July 2014 at 00:22

      Wow thanks a bunch! Those are some pretty amazing compliments. I’m glad you liked this little thing. Thanks for stopping by!

       
  3. imab00kworm

    14 July 2014 at 15:47

    Hahaha congratulations my friend 😉 that was a fun read!

     
  4. mridubala

    15 July 2014 at 07:11

    That was a thoughtful post about a lamp post…from the start, I was wondering what you were pointing to …good homage 🙂

     
    • DragonSpark

      15 July 2014 at 07:14

      Mission accomplished on my part then. Thanks for stopping by!

       
  5. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16)

    15 July 2014 at 08:10

    That was clever and imaginative! ♥

     
    • DragonSpark

      15 July 2014 at 14:43

      Thank you for reading, I’m glad you liked it!

       
  6. cynkingfeeling

    15 July 2014 at 11:51

    Nice job of creating a person vs. society conflict by giving the lamp post thoughts and feelings.

     
    • DragonSpark

      15 July 2014 at 14:45

      Haha this post was up before the grid opened, so I had no idea it was gonna be this week’s “lecture” topic. Glad I did it right anyhow! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the compliment!

       
  7. Tina

    15 July 2014 at 18:41

    Lamposts don’t get nearly the credit they deserve, because you’re right, they have to be “on” no matter what. Great job keeping me hooked until the end–it made me laugh!

     
    • DragonSpark

      16 July 2014 at 11:09

      If that comment is 100% honest, you made my day. The fact that what I wrote on my IPod, going at 400+mph, and rapidly gaining altitude, made someone laugh is something I’m kinda proud of.

       
  8. Jen

    15 July 2014 at 23:05

    Poor lamp post. They get the raw end of the deal, don’t they? I love how inspiration just appears out of nowhere sometimes.

     
    • DragonSpark

      16 July 2014 at 11:18

      Well hey, Archimedes “discovered” buoyancy whilst in his bath, and subsequently ran outside naked due to his… excitement. So when you think about it, my little flash of inspiration wasn’t that out of the blue compared to him. 😏
      Thanks for reading and thanks for stopping by!

       
  9. Silverleaf

    16 July 2014 at 14:53

    At first, given the prompt, I thought you were a flower, but of course the 7-7 thing wouldn’t make sense then. Creative and amusing piece.

     
    • DragonSpark

      16 July 2014 at 15:32

      Almost as much as yours! Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you liked it.

       
  10. thewizardsword

    16 July 2014 at 20:11

    Love it! Very clever. I had no idea where you were going until the dogs peed. 🙂

     
    • DragonSpark

      17 July 2014 at 11:34

      Haha dem dogs! Thanks for the compliment. I’m glad you liked it!

       
  11. Jennifer G. Knoblock

    17 July 2014 at 11:22

    “We’re more synchronised than a orchestra of Swiss watchmakers.” “Nobody ever compliments us, even if we’re the one lighting up the city.” “You are expected to be brilliant all the time.” Love it.

     
    • DragonSpark

      17 July 2014 at 11:36

      Thanks! I’m glad you did. See you ’round!

       
  12. Half and Half

    17 July 2014 at 16:35

    So clever!

     
  13. Michael

    18 July 2014 at 14:13

    Next time I see a lamp-post, I’m going to give it a compliment. Make its day. Light up its world, so to speak. 🙂

     
    • DragonSpark

      19 July 2014 at 02:18

      Yea! I’m gonna start a petition to install the official “lamppost appreciation day”!

       
  14. inNateJames

    18 July 2014 at 23:25

    I knew within the first couple of paragraphs that you were writing about something unexpected. Very nicely done, dragon! Even though I was anticipating the answer, I was still surprised.

     
    • DragonSpark

      19 July 2014 at 02:19

      Thank you Mr Cartographer! I’m glad you were. Thanks for commenting!

       

Any thoughts?...

 
