RSS

Differences

04 Aug

They’re kind to me, they feed me and shelter me and love me. But they can also be harsh. They obsess over the future and the past, often not seeing the present as anything other than a means for reaching the future. According to them (or at least one of them) I must always be doing something productive for the long run. They put me in a cage. To help me achieve my goals they say. Focus on what’s real! It’s the only thing that really counts in life they say. Too often they trim my wings, pulling me back down to earth. They do not realise that I need the time I “waste” to be “wasted”. They do not understand that what they see as useless can mean a lot to me. I fear that though they do not mean to, they oppress me. And I fear that because of this I may never fly again lest it be some measly hop with shoulders too heavy and wings too short to take off.
I do know that I must prepare for the future, but must I really spend every minute of my time doing so? I value the present as I discard the past and strive towards the future. I might need help, but I also need the freedom to have to ask for that help and not have it forced upon me.
If I focus on what is real and only that, life becomes unbearable… Not because bad things have happened to me but because there is already so little freedom in life, according to how well you do you can go on to do certain things, the rest is achieved with money. Nothing can be achieved only through dreams anymore and we are slaves of the society we call free. So sometimes, I need to get away from that, to imagine I can do anything and be anyone, break the rules, because there is so little I can do in real life.
I hope you understand me, we are all different people with different ways of living, some of which are incompatible. We should acknowledge that and try to adapt to make sure everyone has what they need. Be open and try to understand people, that’s where you learn the most important things. In fact I think when we meet people, we can often say that we learn them and if you look deeper into someone, the chances are you’ll find something you never knew was there. Everyone has a secret, and people are not always who you think they are

………••••••••………•••••••……..••••••••………•••••••………••••••……..•••…….

*For those who don’t know me I tend to be a little hyperbolic sometimes (curtesy of my overactive imagination which is more often a blessing than a curse 🙂 )

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 4 August 2014 in Banzaï

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Differences

  1. glasgowdragonfly

    17 August 2014 at 06:47

    I love your caged bird character. Youthful but yet wise, he/she seems to have life sussed even if those around are intent on applying their own ideas of how it should be. I particularly agreed with your words on understanding others’ differences and learning from them. I hope the caged bird isn’t you bookworm! If it is I hope that you find release soon. Great post again!

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 August 2014 at 10:29

      Hehe, as I said at the end I often exaggerate things so don’t worry about me I can cope 😉
      Thank you, for understanding, the praise and the hope!

       
  2. Daniel Nest

    17 August 2014 at 09:50

    Well hey, if you truly want to be free, you just need to join Facebook and start sharing motivational quotes about freedom with people! 😀

     
  3. inNateJames

    17 August 2014 at 16:47

    I think writers have to be hyperbolic. That’s what writing is: amping up parts of the world as if with a microscope so we can study them. But I digress.

    I think this is an entry about parents forcing their advice on their older children. Reading it from that perspective, it took me back to my parents demands of constant studying for fear of losing scholarships and I completely identified with your narrator.

     
    • imab00kworm

      25 August 2014 at 06:42

      You’re right about your interpretation, that’s exactly what I was thinking although I’m not getting a scholarship, my parents (especially my dad) hate it when I’m doing something “unproductive” and we disagree on what exactly that means.
      Thanks for sharing your experience 🙂

       
  4. Patricia Rivera

    21 August 2014 at 00:02

    wow, I am the parent that might do all this! yikes!! thank you for giving me insight into a different and very important perspective.

     
    • imab00kworm

      25 August 2014 at 06:50

      Me and my parents have different ways of thinking, reacting, doing certain things and while my dad is always working on something I often find it hard to concentrate for hours on end and he doesn’t get that. I was just saying that people are different and have different ways of working, if you think you might be this sort of parent try not to always be behind your children, checking what they’re doing, making sure they’re only working because that’s what I don’t like with my parents, I need space.
      Then again some people might need the push…

       

Any thoughts?...

 
