RSS

New Life

27 Aug

Everything hurt. All the muscles in my body, my eyes, my head, my bones and something different, that was hurting too. My head was ringing and the light was too bright and the absence of noise too loud. I coughed as a tube was removed from my throat and out of my mouth and then I was breathing on my own. It was rebirth. Except that I didn’t remember the first one, or anything after it. There was an emptiness in my head, a big gaping hole where I felt there should be something, anything. 

I was lying on a table, that’s the first thing I noticed (after the light and the silence). It felt like tables shouldn’t be meant for lying on. But I wasn’t sure… I waited for something to happen. Nothing happened. So I got up. That’s when I noticed some of me looked a certain way and the rest looked different. Some of me was pale, pink and soft, some of that had hair, my head, my arm… the rest of me was different. My right arm was almost all silver, it started on my shoulder a bit then took up most of the space from my shoulder to my elbow, all of the space from my elbow to my wrist and the back of my hand and fingers (no doubt including partly inside my hand too). On my right leg it started on the knee and covered all the way down my leg including my foot; my left leg was entirely robotic and this went up my side and stretched halfway across my skinny, flat chest. I felt like I was burning. I didn’t know my body. I didn’t know who I was. I still don’t know who I was. 

Some panels swivelled out of the way to reveal a flat screen in the wall.
“HELLO ADAM” said the green writing.
Suddenly I remembered speech.
“Who are you?” I asked, not angrily but curiously.
“I AM DAWN” answered the wall.
“Who am I?”
The line flashed a while before writing “YOU ARE ADAM”
I never got more than that. Ever.
“Where am I?” Deciding that if I couldn’t know who I was I might as well know where, if I could get a good answer.
“YOU ARE SAFE”
Decidedly not I guessed (a good answer I mean, I didn’t doubt my safety much). Although I later learned that the place was in fact called SAFE, I don’t know if these are initials or just got caught up in the caps-lock that rules letters around there but I don’t much care for it. 

A rectangle of panels to my left danced away as a drawer slid out and DAWN (I’m not entirely sure if these are initials either, for all I know Adam might be ADAM and be initials too) explained:
“THESE ARE CLOTHES… YOU MUST WEAR THEM”
There was white underwear (labeled “male” inside), baggy white cotton trousers (also labeled “male”) and a thin white t-shirt with long sleeves (“male”) which said ADAM neatly in red on the left. On the side of the drawer was a white watch with a black screen looking like a miniature DAWN and labeled ADAM on the bracelet. For the moment it only showed the time but something told me that wasn’t the only thing it did.

Once I had dressed the wall lit up again saying “THIS IS YOUR ROOM. COME BACK” and with that a door revealed itself behind more scurrying panels. Perplexed by that last message I momentarily forgot my pain and tried to walk, crashing into floor. The table beside me started sinking through the it and beneath me a bed came up. White, like everything.
“YOU ARE UNSTABLE” specified the informative wall, a little too late. 

• • •

My name is Adam, I am the perfect man, I can do jobs no-one else can, I now work for the American secret services and defence; not the CIA – the other one, the one people either cannot name or have been sworn to secrecy about, I work with my teammate Eve who, unlike me, remembers her past and will do anything to avenge the deaths she has seen. Together, we’re an ugly sight. But we’re the best you’ll ever find (if you do find us). We live SAFE. No-one could even get close to finding us in that maze of moving panels. And so, we’re pretty much invincible. Pretty damn proud of it too!…

* * *

Far off in the distance just outside the picture a woman cries out in the ruins of her city, looking for her son. His body was never found. 

………………………………………..tataratataterrificreturnofthecreaturewhohibernatesinsummerandjustdestroyedthemoodsheputyouin………………………… :/

I’m back! Yay! I have finally returned from the faraway places I went (which weren’t really that far by the way) to this thing of yeahwrite and caught up on a lot of stuff!
Ok so I had something I wanted to try this week. But that was before I saw the prompts. Absolutely not compatible with my idea! So I might try next week. In the meantime though I wrote this! I kind of ran out of time so instead of a proper story you can have a cyborg, I hope that works too. Shame on me for being late 😦

I’m glad to be back though and I’m looking forward to reading your amazing work 😀

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 27 August 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “New Life

  1. BCIJo (aka Joanne Edith)

    28 August 2014 at 11:51

    I enjoyed reading this. I like that your fantastic, surreal details seemed perfectly logical, within the context of your story.

     
  2. Suzanne

    28 August 2014 at 13:24

    This is great! I love the mysteriousness of who and where he is. And I love the way you give us a little more at the very end. I think this is my favourite of your stories so far, so I guess it’s good that the prompts made you change direction. 🙂

    One suggestion: I’d recommend putting a space between each of your paragraphs, just to make it easier to read.

     
    • imab00kworm

      28 August 2014 at 16:41

      Thank you! I didn’t see the greatness so I’ll have to go back to reread it. Also, thanks for the tip, I can’t see what it does on my phone so I’m glad you told me 🙂

       
  3. glasgowdragonfly

    28 August 2014 at 14:13

    Really good read. You held my attention right to the end building up the mystery by dropping breadcrumbs throughout. Look forward to next week – sounds like you have a treat up your sleeve!

     
    • imab00kworm

      28 August 2014 at 17:03

      Well I wouldn’t want to get your hopes up, or you might be disappointed. I hope it works though 😉
      Thank you!

       
  4. inNateJames

    28 August 2014 at 18:28

    Loved that I was finding out about the situation he was in as he was. I also liked how you revealed his personality by how he responded to what the wall was giving him. Welcome back!

     
    • imab00kworm

      29 August 2014 at 08:57

      Thank you 🙂
      This time I even got the time to vote! It’s usually hard to get around to all the posts then thinning them out to the required amount of favourites but I’m glad I managed to this time thanks to the shorter number of posts.

       
  5. Blake

    28 August 2014 at 22:35

    A very fine return after your break! I like how you humanised the cyborg’s situation by having him say fairly universal things – “I didn’t know my body. I didn’t know who I was. I still don’t know who I was.” And then the mother searching for her son at the end gave it a real emotional kick.

     
    • imab00kworm

      29 August 2014 at 09:00

      Thanks for the praise and thank you for saying what you liked, it’s not always easy to say the right things 🙂

       

Any thoughts?...

 
