RSS

Ambitious

01 Oct

In the span of a breath, everything changed. I was now standing tall and proud, my cape was billowing in the wind as I beheld the gleaming city. At last, I was there: Ollion, the bright star. After all my troubles, I had endured much to arrive here yet here was the city, stunning in the light of the sunrise, beautiful. But I had not come this far to stop now. I had heard that the doors only open to those worthy of it and I had every intention of outshining all those in the tents outside who had yet to prove their worth. On the way I had thought long and hard about what I would do but already I knew it would be spectacular.
The wind mumbled something: “tafeylapajkathr?”
The world around me begins to blur as I struggle to understand.
The gnarled tree next to me turn into long, hanging strands. Light, real light floods in as I try to open my eyes. My head is resting on my fist and my hair is a curtain hiding me from prying eyes. On my desk sits the annoyingly easy physics sheet that refuses to let me understand it and my pencil that I probably haven’t touched for at least 20 minutes.
“Hé! T’as fait la page quatre?”
Brain calibrating itself: new language: French. “Hey! Did you do page 4?”
I manage to murmur something back “Mmmm? Yeah, I just did this…” showing him the “v / c x h” I had scribbled onto my page 4.
“Oh ok.”
Time to work again. I was almost there though! Next time I’ll make it to the gate and show some awesome magic… unless someone wakes me up again first…
I keep staring at my page, willing it to make answers appear but incomprehensible it stays. It would appear that my magic powers have not developed enough in my dreams to be of use when I wake. So I pick up my pencil and look for answers. If magic worked like that, I suppose we’d all be terribly stupid anyway. Ah well… never mind. Next time maybe. Next time I’ll venture forth into the vast majestic city to discover the wonders that await me. I’m already near enough to the gates to make it through next time. In the meantime though, great physical questions need my answering. Farewell Dream-Me. Until next time.

………………….zzzzzzZZZZZzzZzzZZZzZZzzzz………………………….

I wanted to read the first book of Game of Thrones but someone had already taken it out so I decided to borrow The Picture of Dorian Gray instead and for the moment I have not been disappointed. The beauty of Oscar Wilde’s writing even in his preface is more than admirable. He chooses every word carefully to create beautiful sentences and good sense. He takes the reader exactly where he wants to and plays with us, describing the trees and clouds while two characters are deep in conversation this detaching us from it or making it seem less important and their words insincere.
Reading Wilde’s book (well, starting to read it) has made me understand a little better just how much I still have to learn, or how much I could learn. It’s a beautiful book (for the moment anyway) and it’s not that long if you don’t mind reading well structured, complicated and thoroughly thought out sentences all the way through.
I’ve just realised that I probably won’t be asked to read many books this year which gives me more time for books I actually want to read. I already have a list but if you have any good suggestions to throw at me go ahead 🙂

(Sorry if the icon doesn’t work but I have limited access to computers and it doesn’t show on mobile :/ )

 
18 Comments

Posted by on 1 October 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

18 responses to “Ambitious

  1. joetwo

    1 October 2014 at 21:11

    Glad to see you going with Wilde. Always worth it.

     
  2. Shailaja/ The Moving Quill

    2 October 2014 at 07:17

    Wilde is a personal favourite of mine, especially that book and his plays 🙂 Nice work here with the prompt, blending the realistic and the fantastic.

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:44

      Thanks! It’s actually a true story in a sense :p
      I changed the “dream” but I really did fall asleep in physics (but shhh don’t tell!)

       
  3. Christine

    2 October 2014 at 19:41

    Oh, I have been in this very situation. Maybe not in the middle of a test, but sometimes those work meetings do run on too long…

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:45

      luckily it wasn’t a test but my physics lessons are just like “here’s a sheet with exercises, find out how to do it!” so yeah, not a very good start to the day…

       
  4. Silverleaf

    2 October 2014 at 20:06

    I, too, have been in this kind of situation. In fact, I think the next time one of my meetings run on too long, I may just grab a pen a descend into another world 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:46

      Glad to inspire you :p
      I just hope you don’t miss anything important while you’re “away”

       
  5. DragonSpark

    2 October 2014 at 23:52

    Late nights get me in that situation most mornings at about 9:30. Usually, I manage to shut my eyes and listen to the lecture, without getting caught… It’s worked so far! Good job on this one! 😀 Dunno if I’ll post next week, but I’ll make sure to be there for Speakeasy 2.0

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:48

      Yeah lectures sound worse than lessons. Good luck with all that homework of yours and your freak timetable :p
      I hope to see you posting soon 🙂

       
  6. Splendid Empress

    3 October 2014 at 00:20

    Nicely done! I loved the phrase “the annoyingly easy physics sheet that refuses to let me understand it.” Keep at the Wilde – his plays are classics and your description of ” if you don’t mind reading well structured, complicated and thoroughly thought out sentences all the way through” is dead on. Come to think of it, I should probably go back and read him again – I’ve gotten somewhat sloppy in my old age and could use a refresher……..

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:50

      This is the first I’ve read of him but now I’ll have to check out some plays too… added to the-long-list-of-things-to-read!

       
  7. inNateJames

    3 October 2014 at 01:41

    Your story makes me think you were there when I was struggling through Physics class. Every homework assignment swirled on the page like you described!

    The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my favorite books! In addition to your description of his writing, I’d add that he’s the master of Snark.

     
    • imab00kworm

      3 October 2014 at 09:52

      Hehe yeah physics can be annoying, especially in the morning I’ve found.
      Cool! I’m not very far yet so I couldn’t describe him too well so thanks for the addition, I’l look forward to seeing that 🙂

       
  8. Natalie DeYoung

    3 October 2014 at 02:14

    That’s a phenomenal book- I’m always glad to hear someone is enjoying it.
    You also set a good scene here, which I enjoyed.

     
  9. Blake

    4 October 2014 at 20:53

    I enjoyed the shifting tone here, from fantasy adventure to mundane school day in the blink of an eye; and the fact that there was an aspirational quest within the dream, which could be relevant to the real world…

    Favourite lines were: “Farewell Dream-Me. Until next time” 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      4 October 2014 at 22:14

      Dreams are always relevant to the real world: they are part of what makes us who we are…
      Thx, I liked those lines a lot too 😉

       

Any thoughts?...

 
