RSS

Small Dirty Things

07 Oct

“I tried to forgive them. I really did you see? But it was just too much, you can’t just disrespect people like that, spit on their face y’know? That just ain’t right. That’s what did it really. I swear I woulda let them go but I couldn’t then see? It just weren’t possible what with circumstances an’ all. Nah, better like that I thought. Nice and clean, don’tcha see? Neat, I thought. There weren’t no other way. I only wish I coulda give them a proper burial only I couldn’t then, ‘cause I had no time, I knew they’d come after me an’ I knew that they couldn’t understand. But you understand me see? Couldn’tcha tell ‘em when they come? That they made a mistake see and I’m an innocent man I didn’t have no choice…”

Deep in her heart Millie wanted to feel some sympathy for this man who had gone through hell like so many others, but this man had come late in the night and it had been pouring and her feet were wet which was the most horrible sensation she could have and she only had two shoes and no socks. Millie had already swept the old inn despite the fact that the man was still there and yet he still sat there alone with beer in hand, talking to himself. Of course he thought he was talking to her but Millie knew better. He was explaining his troubles in hope for forgiveness, for a sign that not all was lost but the girl didn’t care anymore. So Millie sat on a bar stool and stared into the fire while the man poured all his worries into his pint of beer that didn’t seem to be getting any smaller with the time until she realised that the stranger was no longer talking. She turned around just in time to see him disappearing up the stairs.

She was tired of her life. She couldn’t remember a time when she hadn’t been in the small inn or its surroundings. It was so hidden away that the only people that came were lucky thieves and wanted men. The only honest man Millie had ever known was her father but even he was not the best of role models. “Maybe tomorrow.” She told herself. “Maybe if tomorrow an honest man comes in I’ll leave with him.” But the following day no honest man would come nor the day after that until she took a horse from a dishonest one with a bundle of clothes and food and ran away. She found a road that led her to a town and used all the men come to the inn had taught her to make a living until she had to run away, back to her inn. For there were not many wanted women and she knew what they would do to her when they found her. So she went back to her inn and her father and her traitors and she understood them all. She knew how you had to make choices in life and she was now aware of the consequences. She did not judge men by what they said rather than how they said it. And she kept waiting for that honest man to come and take her away, knowing that he would never come. Daringly defying her fate.

……………………………………..Ooo0Ooimafish!oO0oOOoo…………………………………………………………………………..

A little story for you 🙂

Life is long and tedious and boring at the moment. Maybe the one interesting thing I can say (that I forgot to mention last time) is that the third part of our joint story with DS is out if you’d care to take a look for those that haven’t already. Here it is: Lions and Ravens! I hope you like it 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 7 October 2014 in Banzaï, Speakeasy

 

5 responses to “Small Dirty Things

  1. imab00kworm

    7 October 2014 at 16:37

    oh and for those of you who clicked on the speakeasy link (I’m guessing that”s all of you) you’ll notice my picture has changed. The school computers don’t have many images but it seems they might be fond of koalas which would explain the picture…

     
  2. DragonSpark

    7 October 2014 at 18:18

    Good one, friend. Glad to see one of us is still active. I just started working on the sequel. With a little luck I’ll be able to submit it to the Moonshine in the coming weeks…

     
  3. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16)

    8 October 2014 at 16:58

    Great story. Kind of sad, but maybe one day her prince will appear in spite of everything!

     

Any thoughts?...

 
