RSS

Finding Beauty

04 Nov

This evening (well it was afternoon but the because it’s winter the sun sets early) I was walking home listening to music, almost singing along not quite looking other than to know where I was stepping. And then I realised the sun hadn’t set yet so I looked up to see if I could get a glimpse of the slow sunset. I stepped out of myself and all I did was look up and there was a cloud in a very nice shade of pink (and I don’t usually like pink) and the sky was such a beautiful blue that I just had to stop and stare, and then I realised that I had almost missed something beautiful. And every morning, especially when the sun is rising I look around me at the people walking by (and there aren’t many) and there half asleep, staring at their feet and barely seeing them and I think “look up! Just look up!” Because I do. I look up. And I see a beautiful sky that everyone else is missing and I think that sometimes there are moments when you just need to stop what you’re doing, and look up. And then you’d notice that no two sunsets are the same. You’d see that there is a difference between sunsets and sunrises. You’d stop staring at your shoes and be glad you woke up for work or whatever you’re doing. Because if you hadn’t, you would have missed that one moment of ephemeral beauty. And maybe, wherever you are, if you just look up, you might find beauty. Maybe you’ll find that the world is not as terrible or as ugly as you had once thought it was. Maybe if we all watched sunrises and sunsets, the world would be a happier place. Would it hurt? To just look up every once in a while?

IMG_1867.JPG

I had many photos (ok I had 5) that could have been nice with this post but they kind of seemed too nice, they looked as if I live in a magical beautiful place but I really don’t (I just have a knack for taking pictures) and this was the only one which looked “ordinary” enough. If you look around you can find beauty in many unexpected places. Trees for example. 🙂

This is a nice song to go with it: U2 – California

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 4 November 2014 in Banzaï

 

4 responses to “Finding Beauty

  1. zampano

    4 November 2014 at 23:20

    Still looks like a beautiful place to live. I agree that people need to look up more often. Sunrises, sunsets, stars and the Milky Way. Always the same and always different.

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 November 2014 at 07:19

      Yes, and many things look different in the setting or rising sun, the different light makes everything a little more beautiful. 🙂
      I wouldn’t say it’s a beautiful place to live but I guess it’s not bad. At the same time I don’t have that much to compare it to.

       
  2. joetwo

    4 November 2014 at 23:32

    You are right. Sometimes it is great to, as they say, stop and smell the roses.

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 November 2014 at 07:20

      Aye! I completely agree with “them” ^^

       

Any thoughts?...

 
