RSS

The Devil Loans Backbone

05 Nov

“You can’t do it!” “Scaredy-cat scaredy-cat sitting on a doormat what are you looking at!” “I dare you!” “You’re a baby! Baby!” “You’re just a girl!”
I wake up in cold sweat. I am Alex, ten-and-a-half years-old and I’m not a scaredy-cat. I just didn’t want to eat the spider, it just wanted to be left alone. I could’ve done it. I just didn’t want to. 

• • •

“Come on man!” “You can do it!” “Just don’t look down!” “Put some backbone into it!” “Jump!”

I waited the minimum amount of time
… 
It felt like ages

My parachute wasn’t opening

I kept tugging but it wouldn’t open

I started to panic

I couldn’t breathe
….
….
It opened. 
… 
I crashed into a huge pile of hay. 

I woke up in hospital. 

I was alone. 

• • •

Now I have no job and I spent the last of my money on a leather jacket that says “Daredevil” on the back with little red horns on the D. 

“You’re neither dare nor devil ‘f y’ask me” moaned a voice behind me. 
I was so creeped out if I could have I would’ve jumped out of my skin but my skin seemed intent on staying on so I just jumped a little. 
“You’re neither dare nor devil,” crawled the voice again and I saw where it came from this time “but if you give me some o’ your time I could tell you which I am”. 
The teller was small and his crooked, dishonest smile sent shivers down my spine. “Who are you?” I asked,
To which he answered “who would you like me to be?”

“I’ll loan something to you” he continued, “whatever you’ve always wanted. But one day, you’ll have to pay me back.”
God give me strength I thought. 
“God don’t give a damn. I do. I coulda given you the strength ya wanted long ago if you’da let me. All I ask” he licked his lips, “is for something in return.”
There was something weird about the way he talked, the way he moved, the way he sounded way too confident than he should have been. 
“Whaddayawant?!” I snap because it’s better than whimpering. 
“Well, one day, you’re going to die” he started, twisting his fingers, “there’s really not much you can do about that, but when it does happen I want your soul.”
I had to agree that there wasn’t really anything I could do about dying and I really didn’t want to spend my life like this. 
“Done!”
“Please sign here…”

……………….•••••••••••••••………..whoosh~~~~~~~~~

This was prompted by

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 5 November 2014 in Banzaï, Friendly Prompts

 

4 responses to “The Devil Loans Backbone

  1. joetwo

    5 November 2014 at 22:13

    When making deals with the Devil it is wise to always read the fine-print. Good one!

     
    • imab00kworm

      5 November 2014 at 22:18

      Thx! It’s not what is said, but rather what isn’t that one should be looking out for ^^

       
  2. Blake

    17 November 2014 at 20:13

    I especially like the title of this story – I always like a title that has a nice ring to it but you can’t immediately decipher what it means 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      17 November 2014 at 22:17

      Heheh, yeah that’s true, an intriguing title always draws me in 🙂

       

Any thoughts?...

 
