RSS

Little Secrets

11 Mar

Creeping downstairs quietly, no-one awake to hear a thing. Our steps are perfectly choreographed: down two steps, skip the third because it creaks, down three more then slowly slide down the bannister until the bottom hits our bums, then carefully forward, sharp left, avoid the noisy bits in the floor and the scattered stools in the kitchen until… Tommy turns the light on and says “We should tell Mummy…”
I quickly turn it back off and stay near it while I stare at my brother and Daniel whispers “Shhhh! Whose side are you on?!”
Tommy looks at us, admiring our complicity. He wishes he were like us but at the same time a little voice inside him is screaming “you shouldn’t be doing this!”
Reluctant to betray our trust after having passed the tests he gives in and follows meekly. We tiptoe past the drawers, sneak past the cupboard, crawl past the fridge, silently place a stool under the high shelf, climb unto the fridge and carefully pass the sweetie jar down to Tommy who stares at it in wonder.
“Whose side are you on now?” We ask triumphantly looking down at our younger brother, still mesmerised by the amount of sweets he had in his hands.
“Don’t take too many” we warn “or she’ll notice”. Tommy nods and takes a big handful before passing the jar back up to us.
This was the last test. He didn’t know this, he thought he was already in and he almost was but if he told on us this time… we could never include him in anything again.
“Are you worthy?” I wonder silently…

…..••••••…….•••••••……………..siblingscanbecruel………………………………………………………………….

Written for the speakeasy (fiction/poetry) at yeahwrite:

Hey guys! I’m sorry I haven’t written for a while, for lack of time and inspiration (and missing deadlines and leaving the last two stories unfinished). I feel like this one is a bit bleh by the way so feel free to bombard it with criticism it’ll make me a better writer (and feel free to criticise anything else too).
Next week I have the school play on Monday and Tuesday in which I will be doing the lighting for the third year consecutive so I don’t think I’ll have much time and I will have homework to catch up on so I probably won’t make it 😦
Hope you have a nice week, and a nice next week, and a nice life and I will try to write more often 🙂

PS. Where is the rum gone? No-one made a reference to Pirates of the Caribbean! That film has the best quotes ever (not to mention amazing music) and you should all be ashamed if you haven’t seen it…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 11 March 2015 in lost things

 

9 responses to “Little Secrets

  1. DragonSpark

    12 March 2015 at 10:06

    Great one, BW. I like how you explore the dynamics of three siblings, and the different alliances and betrayals that happen. Who said Game of Thrones was the most backstabbing-friendly, shady-alliance containing plot human kind has yet to discover? I say Nay! I say Siblings have that title!

     
    • imab00kworm

      12 March 2015 at 15:16

      Too true! :p
      I noticed you’ve updated your about page (I noticed it because I did it too not long after) and yet you never write! Shame on you! I hope everything’s going well on your side and I hope you end up finding the time to write one day, after having found the time to finish all the work you have of course…

       
      • DragonSpark

        12 March 2015 at 20:10

        I have two pieces in the works. One of which is the follow up to our co-series. Both are waaay too long and need some edits.
        Thing is, I’m now the manager of two sites at school, co-host of a podcast, and the best member of debate team, second only to the president of the club, and that is just scratching the surface (the internet has better things to worry about than my private life. I’ll tell you more in person).
        Point is I’m VERY busy lately. I don’t even have time to come visit you until at least two weeks. So yea, pieces will come, but I need time, lots of it.
        Fear not WP, I’m keeping a watchful eye 😉

         
      • imab00kworm

        12 March 2015 at 22:09

        So I see!
        Wow awesome *.* and I’m… Well, not much…
        I’m joint head of backstage (out of 4), in charge of the play lights, Thor, and recently Obi Wan Kenobi apparently but that all goes together really.

         
  2. jannatwrites

    21 March 2015 at 18:09

    I like the three sibling alliance-which I imagine is much tougher to secure than two siblings. I thought for a minute they were going to rat him out so he got caught with the candy 🙂 I just had an older brother and at a certain age, tattling turned to keeping dirt on the other one so nothing got told… if one of us told, then the other would retaliate with a telling of their own…. it teaches keeping silence, haha!

     
    • imab00kworm

      22 March 2015 at 00:39

      I have two younger brothers (precisely 2 and 4 years younger) and I’m quite close to the first one but the younger one is such a telltale

       
    • imab00kworm

      22 March 2015 at 00:46

      We had a song between cousins that went like this
      “Rapporteur a la maison,
      Quand les cloches sonneront,
      Les crapauds te mangeront”
      Which basically means if you tell on people toads will come and eat you when the bells ring. This was especially scary seeing as we had a bell to call everyone to the table and there was a sort of covered up well where we knew there were toads (we had at least seen one) so we would get nightmares of toads comin out in the night to eat us. Unfortunately our parents didn’t like us singing that to our younger brother so he never felt the same terror…

       
      • jannatwrites

        22 March 2015 at 01:05

        That is hilarious really! Things are spooked when rooted in reality. .. seeing the roads would have freaked me out. Too bad they ruined your fun and didn’t let you terrify the youngest sibling 😉

         
      • imab00kworm

        22 March 2015 at 10:20

        Yeah, it a shame. Maybe they were starting to realise that it might be a good thing to know what their children were doing behind their backs…

         

Any thoughts?...

 
