RSS

Legacy

23 Apr

From the dark reaches of his world
A friend reaches out
A far cry from a desolate place
Asking for a light
Asking for proof that he will not
Fade to dust
Without anyone even knowing who
He was,
Who he tried to be.
In the end we are all stories
He says.
But where do the stories go when we die?
Only the best are remembered
And we all want to be on that list.

But I can’t reach you
My friend
I live in a dark corner of my own
And I have no light to give you
I am still looking for my own
And I am terrified
Of fading to dust
Before I become anything more.

When we are all stories
And nothing more
Who can say who we really were?
Only our stories can tell
Which is why in all the myth
On my wall and yours
There is a little bit of us,
A trail of breadcrumbs
For whoever cares enough to find
The right pieces,
And find out who we were.

I doubt anyone will find us,
But I hope people will recognise
Themselves in me or you
And bring us to life again
For the time of a story

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 23 April 2015 in Banzaï

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Legacy

  1. zampano

    23 April 2015 at 15:53

    “When we are all stories
    And nothing more”

    Reminds me of the Doctor Who episode The Big Bang when he says, “I’ll be a story in your head. But that’s OK: we’re all stories, in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?”

     
    • imab00kworm

      23 April 2015 at 16:02

      Ah Doctor Who… so many life lessons learned there 😉

       
  2. Sue Archer

    25 April 2015 at 01:56

    Those last two lines are incredible. Wonderful poem!

     
  3. Abhilasha S.

    10 May 2015 at 06:52

    And this is one more great poem 🙂

     
    • imab00kworm

      10 May 2015 at 10:40

      Thanks! It’s not as great as yours are though 😉

       
      • Abhilasha S.

        10 May 2015 at 11:08

        Oh come on! There are never comparisons when it comes to poetry. I really like the theme and how you went about it.

         
      • imab00kworm

        10 May 2015 at 16:02

        Thank you 🙂

         

Any thoughts?...

 
