RSS

My Love

25 Sep

I love her of a love that’s light
She comes and goes and then takes flight
I love her of a love that’s white
With nought to do with what you might
See on Hollywood TV.

I love her of a love that’s blue
That finds happiness in a puddle or two
I love her of a love that’s true
Much more than she ever knew
Or will probably ever know.

I love her of a love that’s green
Like plants that just like to look and be seen
I love her of a love not mean
I am a shoulder on which to lean
I never wanted more.

I love her of a love that’s yellow
Like a million daffodils in a meadow
I love her not like Romeo
Said that he loved Juliet
It’s not passion, never was, my love.

I love her of a love so orange
Of a thousand sunsets and more mornings
So many beautiful beginnings
And breathtaking endings
She’s always beautiful to me.

I love her of a love that’s red
Raw from things unsaid
Warm from the secrets spread
On the map of our friendship in our heads
Looking for treasure in each other.

I love her of a love so rare
I wrap it up in smiles with care
It’s a jewel only few will find
At the end of a friendship or the end of time
I’m not a lover, just a friend who loves.

You can love others
Get married, sail away
Live the life you choose
But if you ever need a friend
I will always be there for you.

Some things are easier left unsaid
This poem tries to show
The love I bear to my best friends
I’ll never let you go.

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Note: the poem says “her” for the sake of focusing on one entity but my best friends aren’t all girls (and can be counted on the fingers of one hand).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 25 September 2015 in Banzaï

 

Tags:

One response to “My Love

  1. zampano

    26 September 2015 at 05:50

    This is beautiful.

     

Any thoughts?...

