RSS

imabookworm -> Banzaï

26 Sep

Hi it’s imab00kworm, or I was…

I decided that seeing as I’m starting a new part of my life I might as well finally change my wordpress username, partly because I’ve never liked “imab00kworm” that much and I’ve wanted to change it for a while (because it couldn’t compare to a name like DragonSpark), the other reason I’m doing this now is because I finally have a good name to use: during my integration (some call it “freshers week”) I was baptised “Charge Banzaï”. Banzaï is a Japanese war cry meaning “ten thousand years”, a banzaï charge was named such as “Banzaï!” was what samurai would scream during their last attack which was basically a suicidal charge towards the enemy, katanas against canons. It’s a very unusual name to be given to me as I’m usually quite reserved so you’d think I’d be the last to get a name like that! I guess once I’m confident with the people around me I can be like that: charging towards the future against all odds, daring and bold, and I hope I’ll always do that because that’s how I’ll be able to make the most of life and I could avoid a few regrets along the way.

Banzaï is as much a description as a promise to myself, to try to always dare to do things, to keep coming out of my shell, and to live life to the fullest I can.


“They say we are what we are
But we don’t have to be…
‘Cause we could be immortals,
Just not for long…”

Immortals – Fall Out Boy

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 26 September 2015 in Banzaï

 

6 responses to “imabookworm -> Banzaï

  1. zampano

    26 September 2015 at 04:27

    I loved the “old” name and I’m sure I will come to like the new one too, it sounds like a fitting name for you.

     
    • Banzaï

      26 September 2015 at 08:44

      Thank you, maybe it’s like doctor who, you start off by missing the last doctor only to end up loving the current one 😉

       
      • zampano

        26 September 2015 at 08:46

        Maybe! I never thought of it that way.

         
  2. Bastet

    26 September 2015 at 08:40

    LOL .. lovely! Nice to meet you Banzai … and may you live your immortality a long long time!

     
  3. DragonSpark

    24 October 2015 at 14:11

    Good god I haven’t been here in ages and look what I missed XD you’re a samurai now!

     

Any thoughts?...

 
